Mississippi: Getting Work Done and Family Time

By: Logan Cook

imageDay Three was one of the most productive work days so far this week and everybody can attest to that. Everybody got to work right away. I started off building wall frames with Maria, Sam and Rebecca. This was such a rough part to start the day. Sam and I were together and started to build the basic components of the wall. Let’s just say this was a very frustrating start. We kept trying to balance the wood pieces and trying to nail them at the same time. The wood kept splitting and the pieces were not lining up evenly. We finally got the drive to forget about the problems we were facing when the constructing coordinator built the same piece we were working on faster than we did. We stepped up and the errors started going away.

The next step was building the next step of the walls. We came back together as a group, “aka the Wall Squad.” We definitely bonded together and grew closer while nailing and putting the pieces together. We all shared the mutual dislike of the nails. We just wanted them to get in cleanly. Some would bend and we would just get so frustrated. It was alright because it just fueled the fire for us getting the work done. When the work was completed, we all left tired (you know that’s a good day of work), closer relationships, and a hatred for nails.

Another highlight of the day was during lunch. I was sitting next to Eli, a former Habitat worker who came back this week because he knew we (the SHU group) were coming. He handed me a pin and said “Happy Belated Birthday.” I was definitely surprised by this and it really was a sentimental moment. This is someone I just met and have definitely developed a relationship with. It was such a simplistic thing but it will be something I will always remember.

We ended the very productive day with a very powerful reflection. As a group we discussed our strongest and weakest virtues among hope, faith, courage, patience, and love. This was definitely an emotional moment. People could totally let down their guard down and tell stories that normally they wouldn’t tell other people about. This truly shows how close of a family we are. Everybody cares and loves each other. A perfect example is that I talked about about my grandfather. I knew it would I would be teary-eyed but I already was from others’ stories. The tears definitely came but I had the Mississippi family behind me. I knew the first person to come up to comfort me after would be Meg. Meg and I have grown closer since the first day. We are always cracking jokes and having a great time. Being a senior she also teaches me too. It’s great to see someone you barely knew to become a close person to you.

WE ARE FAMILY.

Leave a Reply

